Managing Users

You manage users by inviting them to join a project and managing the invitation process such as sending them reminders to accept the invitation or revoking an invitation. You can also change a user’s role, remove them from a project, and modify their solver access time.

Inviting Users to Join a Project

You invite Leap users to join a project by sending them an email invitation. To join the project, the user must accept the invitation by clicking the link and performing one of the following tasks:

  • New Leap users create a Leap account and join the project.
  • Existing Leap users simply join the project (such users are already in at least one other project).

Note

If you sent multiple invitations to the same user, then they can accept only the most recent one.

Access to Leap is only supported from certain regions. For more information, see From What Countries Can I Access Leap.

During account creation or login, the user might be required to accept the D-Wave terms and conditions. The customer contract determines whether or not this is required for users joining the project.

Note

To change whether accepting terms and conditions is required or not, contact D-Wave Customer Support.

Procedure

  1. To invite Leap users to join a project, click Invite > User or Project Admin.

    User and Project Admin are the project member roles to assign to users. For more information, see User Roles and Privileges.

  2. In the invitation dialog box, specify the following fields:

Table 68 Invitation Dialog Box
Project (Read-only) Name of the project to which you are inviting the users.
Email

Email addresses or member names (if they already exist in Leap) of the people you want to add to the project.

Tip: You can copy and paste multiple email addresses from a semicolon-, space-, or comma-delimited list (for example, a CSV file).

Note: The email addresses to be added must be either specified individually in or match a pattern in the Overview tab > Allowed Email Settings section. For more information, see Viewing Project Information.

Set solver access time allocation The maximum amount of solver access time per month for a specified user. The default is the project’s Project Member Default Solver Access Time field.

Once users join a project, they have the privileges associated with their role as described in User Roles and Privileges; for example, access to the project’s solvers.

Viewing the Status of an Invitation

To view the status of an invitation, go to the Users tab and look at the Membership Status column.

Table 69 Membership Status Column
Invited The user has been invited to the project, but has not accepted. You can send a reminder.
Active The user has accepted the invitation.
Invitation Revoked The invitation has been revoked.
Invitation Expired The invitation to the user has expired. An invitation expires after 7 days. You can send a reminder.
Inactive

The user is not a member of the project. However, the user’s statistics such as the problems they submitted and problem access time used is still displayed in the project.

Note: This status is displayed for historical purposes.

Sending a Reminder

To send an invitation reminder for a user, click meatball_menu > Send invitation reminder in the table on the Users tab.

Tip

The meatball_menu context menu is displayed in a user’s row on the far right when you hover the pointer over the row.

Revoking the Invitation

To revoke the invitation for a user, click meatball_menu > Revoke invitation in the table on the Users tab.

Searching for Users

To find a user in any project, use the global search field global_search at the top of the page. For more information, see Searching for Projects and Users.

Viewing User Information

A list of users is displayed on the Users tab as follows:

Table 70 Users Tab
User

Name and email address of the user. Click the name to display information.

Note: If the user has not created their Leap account, then you cannot display information about them.

Role A role allows a user gives a user certain privileges. For more information, see User Roles and Privileges.
Project Usage for Month Displays the amount of solver access time that a user has consumed for all solvers during the monthly renewal period. Solvers have different usage rates. For more information, see the Operation and Timing section of the QPU Solver Datasheet.
Project Allocation(s) Displays the amount of solver access time that is allocated to a user.
Membership Status The status of the user in the project. For more information, see Viewing the Status of an Invitation.

To display information on a specific user, click the Users tab > user_name. The following information is displayed:

Table 71 Users Tab
User Profile Basic information about the user.
Problem Status The status of the problems that the user submitted to the solvers in a project. For more information, see Viewing the Status of Problem Submissions.
Reporting Reports on the user’s solver usage. For more information, see Generating Solver Usage Reports.

Filtering and Sorting the Columns

In the table headings, clicking the various icons performs the following actions:

Table 72 Columns: Filtering and Sorting
filter_single Filters the rows by matching a part of the member name.
filter_combo Filters the rows by a combination of user status, role, and part of a member name.
sort_col Sorts in ascending or descending order.
filter_col Sets the filters for a column.
gear_col Specifies the unit of time for the column.

Modifying a User’s Solver Access Time

  1. On the Users tab, click meatball_menu for a user in the table and modify the value in the Modify Solver Access Time field.
  1. Specify the amount of solver access time in the Monthly solver access time field.

    Note

    This value can be greater than the project’s Project Member Default Solver Access Time field, but it must be less than or equal to the project’s Monthly Solver Access Time field.

Changing a User’s Role

On the Users tab, click meatball_menu for a user in the table and select one of the following:

  • Remove Project Admin Role

    Changes the user’s role to User.

  • Assign project admin

    Changes the user’s role to Project Admin.

Removing Users From a Project

On the Users tab, click meatball_menu for a user and select Remove from project.

The user’s status changes to Inactive for the project. The user can no longer use the solvers in the project. The user’s usage statistics are preserved for historical purposes.

Tip

  • To remove multiple users, on the Users tab, select the checkbox for each user and click Remove Selected from Project.
  • To remove all users from the project, click the checkbox in the header row (next to User) and click Remove Selected from Project.

Note

You can only remove users whose membership status is Active.

If you want the user to rejoin the project, then send an invitation as described in Inviting Users to Join a Project.

User Roles and Privileges

A user has one of the following roles and associated privileges.

Table 73 User Roles and Privileges
User

Allows users to do the following in their projects:

  • Manage and submit their problems to solvers.
  • Manage their own profile settings.
  • Reset their API token.

Note: Users that have the User role cannot access Leap Admin.

Project Admin

In addition to User privileges, the user with the Project Admin role in a project has the following privileges in that project:

  • Manage invitations.
  • View limited project-level user information.
  • Remove users from a project.
  • Change a user’s solver access time.
  • Manage problems.

Note:

  • A project administrator for a project is a user who has the Project Admin role in that project.
  • A project administrator receives a notification when the project’s solver access time reaches 80%.